Poolesville Day – One of the Best Yet

My family has not been to every Poolesville Day celebration but we’ve been to most of them and I think this year’s version is one of the best on record. Whether it was the wonderful, warm but not too hot sunny day; the warmth of the many people I met; or the amazing variety of music, foods and fun, I’m not entirely sure but the celebration was superb. I do know this, having served on this year’s Poolesville Day Committee. I have never seen a more supportive, “can do”, team spirited group of people in my many, many years of working on volunteer committees. They pulled together, their skill sets meshed beautifully and they pitched in without complaining wherever necessary. I think this did make this one of the smoothest celebrations we’ve ever had. I congratulate the entire group of people. You did a splendid job and I know everyone appreciated it. The community spirit I saw exhibited was fantastic and I know the Town was on stage in the most positive way possible. Congratulations to all on the Poolesville Day Committee. You did the Town proud.

Here are some pics from the day.

4 Responses to “Poolesville Day – One of the Best Yet”

  1. John Says:

    Can I make a suggestion? In the future have the parade start at the other end of Fisher Avenue so that the people in the parade are not marching against the sun. Anyone taking photos would tell you that taking a photo into the sun makes for poor photographs. Look at the one you have posted.

  2. linkhoe Says:

    Good point but the issue is how to organize the parade. The large Elementary school parking lot and Cattail Road near it (which is little traveled) makes for a relatively easy time organizing the parade.

  3. John Says:

    Why couldn’t the parade be organized at the high school and then march down Elgin road and turn right onto Fisher? No difference. Every photo that I have seen is horrible due to the direct exposure to the sun.

  4. linkhoe Says:

    Okay. The Committee meets on Wednesday next week and I’ll take this to them. The only other point to note is that the reason the day runs relatively smoothly is we have the pattern down. This would change that and could complicate things but that is no reason not to consider it.

Leave a comment